8 – Ariel’s versus Thea’s Approach

In the car Ariel was going to turn the ignition when Thea stopped her.

“We gotta talk,” Thea said.

“Morales wants to see us,” Ariel said.

“We talk … then we see Morales.”

“This about your friend back there?” Ariel said, sounding impatient.

TPG_ArielsVersusTheasApproach_01

“This is about my tiptoeing around you, being Tonto to your Lone Ranger. To my deferring to you from day one and your disrespecting me. It’s not about Hamilton back there, but he’s part of it. You wanted to look at the body and had me interview Hamilton. Then you step in and want to tell him what to do. I spoke with him. We established a rapport. You were about to treat him like you treat me—a novice who has to be led by the nose. I deserve better than that. So did he.”

“Look Thea,” Ariel said, her eyes locking onto Thea’s. “You’ve spent the last five weeks following me around, waiting for me to tell you what to do. You haven’t exactly inspired confidence.”

“I was learning the ropes from you. You’ve got the experience in homicide. I learned the basics weeks ago. You’re still keeping me on a short leash.”

“That’s because you’ve shown no initiative. You asked, by your actions, to be led. Am I supposed to read your mind?”

“You might ask,” Thea shot back.

“Not my way,” Ariel said and started the car

.Thea reached over and turned the ignition off.

“With you or without you I can catch the bastard who killed that girl. He’ll kill again and again while you plod along,” Thea said.

“What’s that supposed to mean?” Ariel asked.

“We have different ways of working a case. To you it’s a puzzle. You fit in the pieces and look for answers to emerge. Nothing wrong with that. You’ll just need a hell of a lot of bodies your way, each another piece of the puzzle.”

How can so much pain lead to so much Growth?

Discover the grit and grind of personal growth, in a world where everything is against you! Find Out Now. Visit http://ThePhillyGrind.net.

Leave a comment